An Impressed Tourist

Sooo…

I guess I was right. There’s nothing special to Bangalore. Yes the weather is amazing, the sea food is delicious, and it is much greener but there’s nothing more. It is just another metropolitan city.
image

The city that I have become a huge fan of is Mysore. It is perfect for someone like me. Someone who likes a laid back life. Someone who likes to be surrounded by culture and history. The greenery there, the almost empty picturesque roads, and the perfect blue sky with clouds that seem so close that you feel you can touch them, left me impressed.

To be honest, the place I am completely and utterly awestruck by is the palace. Even with everyone around me telling me how great it is, I never did imagine it to be so good! The blue of the “mandap” area, the stained glass work, the hand painted ceilings, the handcrafted wooden doors, the throne room… everything was so beautiful. I have returned amazed and proud. Proud because I know that such beauty can never be found in any palace anywhere in the world. I know that the blending of three very different cultures through architecture can absolutely not be experience anywhere else in the world. 

image

image

image

image

Unfortunately photography is not allowed inside the palace so you’ll have to go and see it for yourself.

Another thing I have become a huge fan of are south Indian temples. I am not a rligious person at all, in fact I’m agnostic and not really keen on visiting temples (don’t get offended please) but the temples of he south mesmerize me. Their tops are beautiful carved/sculpted/moulded. (See pictures below) It is characterestic of southern temples to have images of the deties not only inside but also outside so that they can be seen far and wide.

image

image

image

South India will always be special to me. No I am not being partial to it not am I even from there but it still holds a special place in my heart due to its amazing culture and food.

4 thoughts on “An Impressed Tourist

  1. What other parts of India are you planning on seeing? 🙂 I spent a month in northern India when I was 19 (in 2011) and it was a whirlwind of culture shock and love at first sight, a totally unforgettable experience. I hope you’ve tried pineapple cake!!

    Like

    1. I live in northern India, Delhi to be specific. I’ve travelled a bit of northern India, uttrakhand and himachal and a bit of north east as well. I have no plans as of now but I’m hoping for a trip to the rann of kucch 🙂
      Hope you had a great time in India and we left a good impression! Where all did you go?

      Like

      1. I was in New Delhi, in East of Kalesh, and also in Noida. I was in two orphanages there, with a group called Udayan Care. I also visited Agra and Rajasthan while I was there. I seriously loved it – the food, the clothes, the buildings – everything was amazing!

        Like

Leave a comment